Launch of a new project

Starting this blog is something that has been in the back of my mind for a while but wasn’t articulated until the last week or so. I’ve kept blogs before, ranging from the enthusiastic Xanga user I was in high school to a journal of my thoughts, experiences, and travel while I was in Peace Corps. I’ve thought often of revisiting the latter to focus on my life now and current events, but something has always stopped me. That blog was a part of my life while I lived in Ukraine, and I want to keep it that way, not conflate it with my very different life now. So, after seeing more and more examples of what I’d like this blog to be, I decided to get started.

What I want out of this is pretty simple: a place for me to share my thoughts on current events, politics, policy, foreign affairs, and anything else that strikes my fancy, in a transparent and public place. Comments are welcome, although I hardly anticipate much publicity or interest, at least to start. And I’m not interested in getting a huge audience. I intend to just share what’s on my mind. Given that I’m a graduate student and part-time professional in the world of policy (and live in Washington, D.C. to boot), the content here will skew toward politics and policy, but I want to make room for whatever is on my mind, and my unsolicited opinions aren’t confined to just those fields.

So, without further ado, here I am. I’ll endeavor to post at least weekly here, for a start, and to just see where that goes.

Leave a Reply

